WLCF Awards \$37,500 for 2018 Scholarships

Western Lane Community Foundation has awarded 23 scholarships totaling \$37,500 to deserving seniors both at Siuslaw and Mapleton High Schools this year. On Thursday, Arlis Ulman and Board Member Sandy Kuhlman presented the 2018 scholarships at the annual Night of Excellence held at Siuslaw High School.

Th following scholarships were awarded: \$2,500 for four years Dr. Brittany Hartzell-Baguley Scholarship to Jordon Northrop (OSU), \$2,000 for four years Jack and Bobbie Saubert Scholarship to Abigail Coday (OSU), and the \$2,500 Marteen Wick Future First Citizen Scholarship was presented to Kaylee Graham (OSU Cascades). The \$1,500 Art and Jean Koning Scholarship was awarded to Lainey Goss (OSU). Alyssa West (LCC) won the \$1,500 Joe and Pearl Ellingson Scholarship. The \$1,000 Alan and Virginia Robertson Scholarship was presented to Zoe Gonzaga (Portland State), and the \$500 Cocciolo Family Scholarship was awarded to Edison Mielke (UofO). Richard Huff (OSU) and Hayleigh Middleton (Stanford) each received \$1,000 Joan Orr Scholarships. The \$500 Larry and Florence Englund Scholarships for most improved went to Autumn O'Connor (LCC) and for trade to Anthony Perez (OCC). The \$500 Elmer Waite Scholarship was awarded to Joshua Hicks (George Fox) and the \$500 Hal and Lee Hylton Scholarship was presented to Katlin Meskimen (Chemeketa Community College). Kyle King (U of Wyoming) received the \$500 Johnston Family Scholarship, Emma Collins (Paul Mitchell Cosmetology) won the \$500 Judd and Lucy Huntington Scholarship, and Maxine Jones (LCC) was awarded the \$500 Justin Black Scholarship. Evan Teter (George Fox) received the \$500 Noel and Mary Dobyns Scholarship, Andrea Sanchez (OSU) won the \$500 Richard and Barbara Whitmore Scholarship, and KC Tatum (OSU) was awarded the \$500 Willard Meyers Scholarship. The \$500 Roger and Sherrie McCorkle Scholarship was earned by Shelby Bernard. There were three Beachcomber Community Dan Barnum Memorial Scholarships awarded this year: \$2,000 each to Jared Brandt (OSU) and Isela Galli (UofO) and \$1,000 to Neil De Vera (OSU).

These scholarships were made possible by the wonderfully generous bequests of past and present individuals and families of this community. These scholarships represent the WLCF's ongoing mission of investing in Western Lane Community's youth by encouraging and supporting their desire to further their education. Congratulations to all of these fine young men and women.

The Foundation, founded in 1974, is a community trust, private nonprofit organization attracting, administering, and distributing private charitable resources for the benefit of residents of Western Lane County. Visit our WLCF website for a short overview of the foundation at www.wlcfonline.org . Should you have any questions or wish more information regarding how to become a donor, please contact our Executive Director, Gayle Waiss at 541-997-1274 or email WLCF@wlcfonline.org.

